b. 01/10/1920 London. d. 15/05/2001 Burnham, Norfolk.
David Auldjo Jamieson was born in Westminster, on 1 October 1920, the elder son of Sir Archibald Jamieson KBE MC, chairman of Vickers Armstrong.
He was schooled at Ladycross School, Seaford, East Sussex, and Eton. In his youth he spent time at the family holiday retreat in Norfolk. He was a volunteer in the Territorial Army unit at Dersingham for the 5th Battalion of the Royal Norfolk Regiment, which he joined in May 1939. He transferred to the 7th Battalion and was subsequently commissioned as a Second Lieutenant despite a lack of experience. He was considered too young for overseas service and did not initially go with the Regiment in the British Expeditionary Force (BEF) when it went to France in 1940 but followed later. When the majority of the battalion was captured in August 1940 during the Fall of France he was at Rouen and was able to return to Britain. The battalion was reformed in 1941 and he was promoted to company commander. Jamieson was 23 years old, and a Captain in the Royal Norfolk Regiment, British Army during the Second World War when the following deed took place for which he was awarded the VC.
"Throughout the thirty six hours of bitter and close fighting and in spite of the pain of his wounds, Captain Jamieson showed superb qualities of leadership and great personal bravery. There were times when the position appeared hopeless, but on each occasion it was restored by his coolness and determination. He personally was largely responsible for the holding of this important bridgehead over the River Orne and for the repulse of seven German counter-attacks with great loss to the enemy."
LOCATION OF MEDAL: ROYAL NORFOLK REGIMENT MUSEUM, NORWICH.
BURIAL PLACE: ST MARGARETS, BURNHAM NORTON CHURCHYARD, NORFOLK.